LIVE SUPPORT

SEND US A MESSAGE

ContactCode

OTHER

Email:
    info@trackie.com

Voicemail:

Discussion Forum >>

TrackieReg - Free Online Registration for pretty much anything!
Reply to topic Go to last post
Anonymous
thumbs_up 0
Report  ORIGINAL

Anonymous said 6 days ago

Offshore tax scheme left Olympian Donovan Bailey owing nearly $2.3 million in unpaid taxes

That not good https://www.thestar.com/news/investigations/2018/06/11/inside-the-offshore-tax-scheme-that-left-iconic-olympian-donovan-bailey-owing-nearly-23-million-in-unpaid-taxes.html

Quote comment
  • powerboy User since:
    Dec 11th, 2014
    thumbs_up 5
    Report    REPLY #1 

powerboy said 6 days ago

This is an ugly story. I am not a tax lawyer, but any competent lawyer should know that that you cannot move money around through charities or holding companies and have it end up back in your hands tax free. Donovan was mostly a victim in this, but also deserves some blame for looking to avoid all taxes.

Our tax system is reasonably fair, and there are lots of legitimate ways to lessen taxes without going offshore.

Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    thumbs_up 2
    Report    REPLY #2 

Anonymous said 6 days ago

I can understand wanting their money, but the CRA shouldn't be going after Bailey and Lindsay criminally, they should be hitting Bollefer - hard.

This guy should be in jail.

Quote comment
  • runningman User since:
    Feb 23rd, 2018
    thumbs_up 4
    Report    REPLY #3 

Runningman said 6 days ago

Come on man common sense here people. You give money to a charity, let alone an off-shore charity and expect to receive money back in the future? That doesn't pass the smell test right from the start.

Donovan is a smart guy he should have realized something seems odd about this scheme.

Toss the lawyer in jail.

Quote comment
  • buddy User since:
    Jun 8th, 2015
    thumbs_up 8
    Report    REPLY #4 

Buddy said 6 days ago