• Login
  • |
  • Contact

    LIVE SUPPORT

    SEND US A MESSAGE

    ContactCode

    OTHER

    Email:
    info@trackie.com

    Voicemail:
    1.877.456.5544
    *For quicker support use email when possible.

To help prevent spammers please
enter the two words below.


image-display1

TrackieTV >>

Enter video URL

2016 CIS - Men 4x200 Final H2

Finals
1 University of Sask 1:27.89 2 10
1) Black, Graham 2) Olson, Jared
3) Paslawski, Adam 4) Peters, Garrett
2 University of Manitoba 1:28.85 2 8
1) Aoun, Syed 2) Samking, Wilfred
3) Ostberg, Dylan 4) Fitkowsky, Matthew
3 York Lions 1:29.00 2 6
1) Boateng, Bismark 2) Djan, Dereck
3) Pidlubny, Jalen 4) Orsini, Daniele
-- Dalhousie University DNF 2
1) Conforzi, Corey 2) Lunda, Josh
3) Van Der Poel, Mike 4) Coolen, Matthew
Posted 5 years ago by Trackie | Source: CIS TV

User Comments

  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 0
    Report    REPLY #1 

    Anyone with eyes said 5 years ago

    what did i just watch

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 1
    Report    REPLY #2 

    Anonymous said 5 years ago

    Officials need to learn to not be on the track during races. It happens SO much

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 1
    Report    REPLY #3 

    Anonymous said 5 years ago

    Is that not supposed to be a DQ for interfering with another team ?

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 2
    Report    REPLY #4 

    Anonymous said 5 years ago

    The event was a total gongshow, both in team's execution and officiating. The officiating in the 4x200m was a total debauchery. Placing athletes on the track incorrectly, changing them while they're on the straight away, very suspect disqualifications and a lack of consistency in the application of the rules.

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 6
    Report    REPLY #5 

    Anonymous2 said 5 years ago

    Quoting: Anonymous
    "Is that not supposed to be a DQ for interfering with another team ?"


    If you are referring to the 2nd exchange, where the 2nd place Dalhousie team's 3rd runner Is lined up inside the first place team (at the 300m mark Sask is clearly in first and should be the inside team at the 2nd exchange). As you can see the Dal 2nd runner is trying to pass on the inside which makes no sense in a 4x200 as your position at that exchange should have been determined at that 300m mark. As the incoming runner you should know to move to lane 2 for your exchange regardless of your place changing on the final straight. This error is not considered an automatic DQ for Dal, as a precedent was set by CIS officials in 2005 that this is not grounds for DQ as the Dal women's team also lined up in lane 1, while being in 2nd or 3rd and interfered with the exchange of the incoming U of T runner. That's another story indeed.

    Another possibility is that that the Dal team was erroneously placed by a track official as the lead team, which in equally dark uniforms could have lead to some confusion. This has happened many times at the CiS champs during the 4x200.

    These are just my thoughts as I don't know if any appeal was made by Dalhousie, but as far as I can tell, Dal was in the wrong lane at that exchange zone and paid the 4x200 price.

    Well done Huskies for leading wire to wire..

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 7
    Report    REPLY #6 

    Anonymous said 5 years ago

    The Sask runner goes wide around the final corner, which is perfectly legal, and the Dal runner stays pretty tight to the corner and pulls up pretty close but on the inside. When this happens, you can see the official at the start line tell the Dalhousie runner to move inside of the Sask runner. Without a doubt that's the official's error, as positions should never be changed down the homestretch. From there it's just a gong show. It looked like Sask's second runner tried to just step off the track on the inside, since technically no one should be there if he's handing off first. Unfortunately he took out Dal's 3rd leg in the process. Just part of what makes 4x200s extra exciting in my opinion.

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 1
    Report    REPLY #7 

    Anonymous2 said 5 years ago

    Watch again between 51-53sec and it looks to me like the official has placed them properly. You'll see Dalhousie's 3rd runner try to claw past the Huskie to take position behind and inside. I therefore, fault the Dal runner over the official who is clearly moving well out of the way while this is happening. Such fun the 4x2 is!

    Quote comment
  • ir User since:
    Mar 2nd, 2015
    Posts: 15
    thumbs_up 1
    Report    REPLY #8 

    IR said 5 years ago

    Quoting: Anonymous2
    "Watch again between 51-53sec and it looks to me like the official has placed them properly. You'll see Dalhousie's 3rd runner try to claw past the Huskie to take position behind and inside. I therefore, fault the Dal runner over the official who is clearly moving well out of the way while this is happening. Such fun the 4x2 is!"


    Anonymous2 is correct.

    As sight lines from the exchange zone to the 300m mark were not good due to all the infield spectators, the SA had arranged with the announcer from the raised platform to call out the team's orders as he had a far better view of the field. The SA was then just ensuring the teams lined up as called on the PA (and was well back from the runners when Dal switched to the inside position).

    Quoting: Anonymous
    "As you can see the Dal 2nd runner is trying to pass on the inside which makes no sense in a 4x200 as your position at that exchange should have been determined at that 300m mark. As the incoming runner you should know to move to lane 2 for your exchange regardless of your place changing on the final straight. This error is not considered an automatic DQ for Dal, as a precedent was set by CIS officials in 2005 that this is not grounds for DQ as the Dal women's team also lined up in lane 1, while being in 2nd or 3rd and interfered with the exchange of the incoming U of T runner."


    There is nothing about this precedent in the CIS playing regulations (or the IAAF rules) and this was therefore not part of any decision. I'm not sure where you are getting this information from.

    Quoting: Anonymous
    "The event was a total gongshow, both in team's execution and officiating. The officiating in the 4x200m was a total debauchery. Placing athletes on the track incorrectly, changing them while they're on the straight away, very suspect disqualifications and a lack of consistency in the application of the rules."


    Your assertion about athlete placement is incorrect (see above).

    If you genuinely feel there were deficiencies in the officiating (whether specific officials or specific events), please document the details and send them to the meet director and Athletics Ontario.

    All officials are registered and certified through Athletics Ontario (except for one of the track referees who was from Quebec) and if they are not living up to expectations (competency, bias, professionalism, etc.) there is a process in place to review and take appropriate action if needed so problems don't perpetuate. Making undefined blanket statements anonymously on a message board is not going to achieve anything productive so please ensure you describe specifically what you feel was wrong.

    If you (or anyone else) further want to address any supposed deficiencies, you are strongly encouraged to get involved in officiating through your local provincial branch. Contact details for new officials can be found on any branch website.

    As far as this particular race went, Sask was initially DQ'd under rule 163.2b.

    On appeal to the Jury, this was overturned.

    I'm not interested in turning this into an anonymous AMA thread, but if I have the chance, I'll try and answer relevant questions from registered, identifiable accounts. If you want to cast negative aspersions on the officials/officiating, please have the decency to take ownership of those accusations.

    Quote comment
  • anonymous Anonymous
    Posts: 57354
    thumbs_up 0
    Report    REPLY #9 

    anon 3 said 5 years ago

    The Dal runner left his spot on the line and moved to lane one. That was what caused the mess and should have been a DQ to Dal.

    Quote comment
  • new-post-last-visitrlehman User since:
    Sep 17th, 2013
    Posts: 18
    thumbs_up 5
    Report    REPLY #10 

    rlehman said 5 years ago

    Quoting: IR
    "Your assertion about athlete placement is incorrect (see above).

    If you genuinely feel there were deficiencies in the officiating (whether specific officials or specific events), please document the details and send them to the meet director and Athletics Ontario.

    All officials are registered and certified through Athletics Ontario (except for one of the track referees who was from Quebec) and if they are not living up to expectations (competency, bias, professionalism, etc.) there is a process in place to review and take appropriate action if needed so problems don't perpetuate. Making undefined blanket statements anonymously on a message board is not going to achieve anything productive so please ensure you describe specifically what you feel was wrong.

    If you (or anyone else) further want to address any supposed deficiencies, you are strongly encouraged to get involved in officiating through your local provincial branch. Contact details for new officials can be found on any branch website.

    As far as this particular race went, Sask was initially DQ'd under rule 163.2b.

    On appeal to the Jury, this was overturned.

    I'm not interested in turning this into an anonymous AMA thread, but if I have the chance, I'll try and answer relevant questions from registered, identifiable accounts. If you want to cast negative aspersions on the officials/officiating, please have the decency to take ownership of those accusations."


    Thanks, Ian. I am confident that none of this is coming from members of the Dalhousie team. I have watched the video many times and have spoken with our athletes and other coaches who were there and it seems as though the rules as written in our regs were followed. It's the nature of the event and we'll be ready to take another run at it next year!

    Quote comment

Other Meet Videos